A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in nagpur

Administration in Nagpur

Local Government in Maharashtra State, which follows the general structure of Local Governance in India, is broadly classified into two categories such as Urban Local Governance and Rural Local Governance. Urban Local Governance is again classified as Municipal Corporations and Municipal Councils.

While large urban areas are governed by Municipal Corporations, the smaller urban areas are governed by Municipal Councils or Municipal Boards.  There are 26 Municipal Corporations in Maharashtra among which an important one is Nagpur Municipal Corporation. Nagpur, one of the main industrial cities of Maharashtra is controlled under the local Government body called Nagpur Municipal Corporation.

Rural Governance in India, which is based on the Panchayati Raj system, is a three tier system such as Zilla Parishad at the district level, Blocks at the middle level and Village Council at the lowest level. Zilla Parishad, a local government body at the district level in India, located at the district headquarters and handles the administration of rural area of the district.

Among the 33 Zilla Parishads in Maharashtra, one is for each district. Panchayat Samiti, which is a local government body at the Tehsil level, is the link between Zilla Parishad and gram Panchayat. Among the 355 panchayat samitis or block panchayats, 13 are in Nagpur district. Maharashtra possesses 28, 813 Gram Panchayats, the local self-government bodies at the village level, among which 778 are in Nagpur district.

Administration in Nagpur

Municipal Council for Nagpur

The Municipal Council for Nagpur which was established in 1864 had a total area of 15.5 sq km with a population was 82,000. The duties which were entrusted then inlcuded arranging for street lights and water supply with government assistance and maintaining cleanliness of the city. The services of the municipal council include:

  • Auto DCR
  • Birth and Death
  • e-tender
  • Local Body Tax
  • Grievance Redressal
  • Property Tax

Nagpur Municipal Corporation
Mahanagar Palika Marg,Civil Lines,
India, 440 001
Telephone: 0712 2567035
Fax: 0712 2561584
E-mail: nmcegov@gmail.com
Click here for details of Commissioner and Additional Municipal Commissioner

Lok Sabha (Parliament) Constituencies in Nagpur District

Nagpur Maharashtra State consists of 48 Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituencies and two among them are in Nagpur district. The two parliament constituencies in Nagpur district are the following.
  • Nagpur Lok Sabha constituency
  • Ramtek Loksabha constituency
Nagpur Lok Sabha constituency covers Nagpur city and some part of Nagpur district.

Assembly constituencies in Nagpur district

Maharashtra State has 288 Vidhan Sabha (legislative assembly) constituencies among them 12 are in Nagpur district. They are;
  • Nagpur South
  • Nagpur West
  • Nagpur Central
  • Nagpur East
  • Nagpur North
  • Nagpur South East
  • Katol
  • Savner
  • Hingna
  • Umred
  • Kamthi
  • Ramtek

Among them, the first six come under Nagpur Lok Sabha Constituency and the remaining six come under Ramtek Lok Sabha Constituency. Among the 12 assembly constituencies, six are reserved for scheduled castes.

Lets have a brief description of administration structure in Nagpur district
  • Number of Gram panchayats: 778
  • Number of Panchayat Samiti: 13
  • Number of Zill Parishad: 1
  • Number of Municipal Corporation: 1
  • Number of legislative assembly constituency: 12
  • Number of parliamentary constituency: 2
With the combined and sincere functioning of all these government bodies of Nagpur, the administration in the district is functioned smoothly.

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries