A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide district court nagpur

District Court Nagpur

Nagpur District Court

District court Nagpur is a sub-ordinate institution of the High Court at Mumbai. It mainly has two functions. They are Judicial function and administrative function. District court Nagpur has various duties and responsibilities. They mainly include:
  • Exercising the control over all subordinate courts functioning in it’s territorial jurisdiction i.e. Nagpur district.
  • Distributing the several grants received from the government among its subordinate authorities from time to time.
  • Dealing with all correspondence relating to Government of Maharashtra Department of law and judiciary, SupremeCourt of India and the High court of Bombay
  • Administering justice as per the various laws
  • Recruiting Class III and Class IV Government servants as per rules
  • Giving promotions to the officials as per service rules

The Head of District Court

The head of District Court and the Chairman of the District legal Services Authority is the Principal District and Sessions Judge and the Lok-Adalats, legal awareness programmes, conferences on various legal subjects are being held under his supervision. He is also designated as Special court under the provisions of Prevention of Money Lending Act, 2002. The Principal District and Sessions Judge, who is the Chairman of the Motor Accident Claims Tribunal, is empowered under Wakf Act for determination of questions, disputes and other matters related to a Wakf or Wakf property under said Act. Honorable High Court conducts workshops to improve the work of the Judicial Officers and employees.

The cadres of the Judicial Officers

The cadres of the judicial officers are the following.
  • District Judges and Additional Sessions Judges
  • Ad-hoc District Judges and Additional Sessions Judges
The above judicial officers handle both civil and criminal matters pertaining to the original and appellate side. District Court hears and decides the appeals in which the suits are valued up to Rs. 10 lacs. Some District Judges are also designated courts under MCOC and TADA Act.
  • Motor Accident Claims Tribunal: Motor Accident Claims petitions are dealt with Motor Accident Claims Tribunal
  • The Civil Judges Senior Division: They deal with the matters of Civil nature that have unlimited pecuniary jurisdiction above five lacs. They decide the suits against the Government, Marriage, Petitions and Land Acquisition cases.
  • Judges, Small Causes Court: The matters under the provisions of Maharashtra Rent Control Act, 1999 is dealt with these officers.
  • The Chief Judicial Magistrates: They deal with all types of Criminal matters excluding the cases triable by the Court of Sessions.
  • The Civil Judges: It deals with the matters of Civil nature that have pecuniary jurisdiction up to Rs five lacs.

Categories of Employees at District Court

Class II: Registrar
Class III: Stenographer (Higher Grade), Stenographers (Lower Grade), Clerk-cum-stenographers, Superintendents, Assistant Superintendents, Senior Clerks/Junior Clerks, Interpreters, head Bailiffs, Bailiffs, Drivers
Class IV: Xerox operator, Book Binder, Hawaldars/Naiks, Peons/Watchmen/Watermen, Sweepers
The below mentioned rules, instructions, regulations, manuals and records are held by District Court and are used for controlling or discharging its functions by the employees.
  • The Civil Manual 1986
  • The Criminal Manual 1980
  • The Maharashtra Civil Services Rules
  • The Maharashtra Budget Manual
  • The Code of Civil Procedure 1973
  • The Bombay Financial Rules
  • The Maharashtra Treasury Rules
  • Stationary and Printing Manual
  • General provident Fund Rules
  • The Limitation Act, 1963
  • The Bombay Stamp Act, 1958
  • Manual of Departmental Inquiries

Explore more about Utility Services in Nagpur

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries